Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Jason Young Named Dean of College of Architecture and Design

Dear colleagues,

I am pleased to announce that Jason Young, professor and director of UT’s School of Architecture, will be the next dean of the College of Architecture and Design effective July 1.

Jason will succeed Dean Scott Poole, who announced in 2020 that he would step down and return to the faculty, continuing a successful 35-year career of teaching, professional practice, service, and leadership, with many accomplishments and accolades along the way.

Jason will bring a compelling vision for design education, conviction of the important role to be played by design across the university, and a strong commitment to community engagement as he begins his tenure as the next dean of the College of Architecture and Design. He enters that role, moreover, with broad support and deep familiarity with all of the college’s constituencies. I look forward to his leadership of the college as our university embarks on its new strategic vision.

As dean, Jason will lead a community of creative thinkers who are passionate about transforming the world through design. He’ll oversee the college’s four schools—architecture, interior architecture, landscape architecture, and design—which have experienced strong growth under Dean Poole’s leadership.

Before joining UT, Jason taught architecture at the University of Michigan; as the 2013 Howard Friedman Visiting Associate Professor of Practice at the University of California, Berkeley; in the Summer Institute for Architecture at the Catholic University of America; and as a visiting professor at the Schwerpunkt Holz in Murau, Austria, an international architecture workshop exploring the culture of wood.

Jason’s academic research explores contemporary conditions of American urbanism in a post-city, digitally organized culture. He has lectured on his urbanism research at the Berlage Institute in the Netherlands, ETH Zürich, the Politecnico di Torino, the Università luav di Venezia, the Rhode Island School of Design, and UC Berkeley, among other settings.

I want to express my sincere thanks to the search committee, chaired by Caula Beyl, dean of the Herbert College of Agriculture, for their time and dedication to the search process.

Please join me in congratulating Jason.

John Zomchick
Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor