Skip to content

Enrollment Management Committee

The purpose of the Enrollment Management Committee is to discuss, develop, monitor, and evaluate all aspects relating to the recruitment, retention, graduation, and support of UT students. This committee is advisory to the provost and is charged with achieving our institution’s desired enrollment (in quantity and quality) and improving student life and learning to ensure student success.


Reporting Committees and Task Forces


To provide a forum for college academic advising directors and faculty coordinators from across the university to:

  1. advocate for exemplary academic advising practice within the contexts of the National Academic Advising Association’s (NACADA) standards and best practices, the Vol Vision 2020 strategic plan, and the university’s academic advising vision, mission, goals, and learning outcomes,
  2. coordinate academic advising, student success and retention initiatives, and advising policy implementation across colleges,
  3. make policy recommendations to the Undergraduate Council’s Advising and Academic Policy Committees,
  4. support advisor development for professional and faculty advisors, and
  5. serve as advising advocates and leaders within the respective colleges and across the Unviersity.


  • Julie Beckman, College of Architecture & Design
  • Ruth Darling (chair), Associate Provost, Student Success
  • George Drinnon, College of Business Administration
  • Lori Hunter, College of Nursing
  • Brent Lamons, College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources
  • Robert Mindrup, College of Social Work
  • Missy Parker, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Margie Russell, College of Engineering
  • Jamia Stokes, College of Education, Health, & Human Sciences
  • Phyliss Shey (recording secretary), Student Success


The EMC Undergraduate Tactics Team, formerly called the EMC SWAT Team, was charged by the chancellor in October of 2012 to develop a plan for maintaining overall undergraduate enrollment at 21,500 students. The taskforce uses a data-informed approach to identifying both trends in enrollment (e.g., retention rates by student profile) and action plans (e.g., increase staff resources to work with transfer students) to develop targets and tactics, track success, and report to the EMC on its work.


  • Kari Alldredge
  • Erik Bledsoe
  • Ruth Darling, Chair
  • Denise Gardner
  • R.J. Hinde
  • Jonee Lindstrom
  • Emily Parker
  • Missy Parker


Jerry Adams
Kari Alldredge
Monique Anderson, Chair
Mary Beth Bulison
Alison Connor
Ruth Darling
Connie Harmon
Heather Hartman
R.J. Hinde
Brent Lamons
Larry Long
Jason Mastrogiovanni
Missy Parker
Shana Pendergrast
Jamil Price
Jayetta Rogers
Jacob Rudolph
Margaret Russell
Pat Rutenberg
Anna Sandelli
Lindi Smedberg
Jana Thomas Spitzer
Brandon Stagner
Celena Tulloss

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier