UTK Faculty Senate

Wednesday, August 9, 2023; New Faculty Orientation

Amber Roessner, Faculty Senate President, 2023-24
Professor, Journalism & Media

aroessne@utk.edu; facultysenate@utk.edu



The UTK Faculty Senate represents the faculty in the shared governance of the university, advocates for faculty welfare, and votes on new policies and procedures to support faculty

Faculty Senate Officers

Faculty Senate Leadership Team

Amber Roessner, *President*Derek Alderman, *President-Elect*Beth Schussler, *Past President*

Michelle Brannen, *Secretary*Robert Spirko, *Communications*Ernest Bernard, *Parliamentarian*

Pamela Durban
Faculty Senate
Administrative Assistant

Jordan Shipley, Faculty Senate RA

CAUCUSES

UTIA, Architecture and Design, Arts and Sciences, Haslam College of Business, Communication and Information, Education, Health and Human Sciences, Engineering, Law, Libraries, Nursing, ROTC, Social Work, Space Institute, Veterinary Medicine, Baker School, School of Music

MEMBERS (~125)

Elected Senators + Administrative and ex-officio members



What is shared governance?

Governing
Board
(Board of
Trustees)

Administration; Chancellor Donde Plowman Faculty
Staff
Students

University of Tennessee System President Randy Boyd

Faculty Senate Shared Governance traditionally includes:

- criteria for faculty appointment, dismissal, promotions, tenure, and retirement;
- approval of curricula
- criteria for the selection of campus administrative officers;
- priorities for the University budget;
- standards for admissions and campus development;
- assuring academic freedom

Work through our own committees or as representatives on institutional committees

Faculty Senate Representatives

University Faculty Council

Bob DuBois, Lecturer, Psychology

Representatives from each UT institution who advise the System President

Tennessee Universities Faculty Senate (TUFS)

Michelle Violanti, Associate Professor, School of Communication Studies

Representatives from each Faculty Senate across all Tennessee higher education institutions

UTK Advisory Board

Joan Heminway,
Distinguished Professor of Law

Represents Faculty Senate on the governing board for UTK

Council on Intercollegiate Athletics (COIA)

Brian Krumm, Associate Professor, College of Law

Alliance of Faculty Senates from NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) teams

Faculty Senate Committees

- Appeals
- Athletics
- Awards & Professional Development
- Diversity & Inclusion
- Faculty Affairs

- Faculty Communication
- Finance & Benefits
- Institutional Affairs
- Research Council
- Shared Governance
- Teaching & Learning

senate.utk.edu; facultysenate@utk.edu



Faculty Senate



The Faculty Senate is a representational body of faculty leaders who advocate for the faculty at UT. Members are elected by their caucuses and serve 3-year terms on the Senate.

We work as a unit and through committees to consider, advise, recommend, and develop policies and procedures in matters which concern all aspects of the welfare of the faculty:

- · criteria for faculty appointment, dismissal, promotions, tenure, and retirement;
- · criteria for the selection of the chief academic officer and other campus administrative officers;
- · consideration and approval of new curricula;
- priorities for the University budget;
- priorities for University strategic and physical space planning.

Sense of Community

(McMillan and Chavis, 1986)

Membership (Sense of Belonging)

Influence (Mattering, Making a Difference)

Fulfillment of Needs

Emotional Connection

Questions?

Amber Roessner, Faculty Senate President, 2023-2024
Professor, Journalism & Media

aroessne@utk.edu; facultysenate@utk.edu











Melissa Hinten, Faculty Senate Teaching & Learning Innovation

Program Director & Lecturer, Geography

Jud Laughter, Faculty Senate Faculty Affairs

Professor, English Education

Dorian McCoy, Faculty Senate Diversity & Inclusion

Associate Professor & CEHHS Directory of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Solange Munoz, Faculty Senate Outgoing Caucus Chair

Associate Professor, Geography

Mark Q. Wilber,
Assistant Professor,
School of Natural Resources