Skip to content

Academic Assessment Council

This council serves as an advisory board to the Assessment Steering Committee (ASC), which is composed of the leadership from the Office of Institutional Research & Assessment, Tennessee Teaching & Learning Center, and Office of Accreditation. (These offices are charged by the Provost to provide leadership, oversight and management of assessment of academic programs and general education.)

The Academic Assessment Council advises the ASC by:

  1. providing feedback on how assessment is working within the departments and general education
  2. helping identify faculty development needs
  3. providing direction in advancing the assessment culture
  4. ensuring campus-wide communication relating to academic assessment

Click here for additional general information on the council.


  • Katherine Ambroziak, College of Architecture & Design
  • Misty Bailey, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Toby Boulet, Tickle College of Engineering
  • Janelle Coleman, Teaching & Learning Innovation
  • Chuck Collins, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Charles Cwiek, Haslam College of Business
  • Heather Hartman, Office of Accreditation, (Chair)
  • Terry Ishitani, College of Education, Health, & Human Sciences
  • Ron Kalafsky, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Alex Long, College of Law
  • Michael McFall, II, Office of Institutional Research & Assessment
  • Laura E. Miller, College of Communication & Information
  • Robert Mindrup, College of Social Work
  • Barbara Murphy, School of Music & General Education Committee Chair
  • Masood Parang, College of Engineering
  • Kathleen Thompson, College of Nursing

Meeting Minutes



The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier.Privacy.